Memories From My Home 3

The third Segment of ‘Memories from my home’. Thank you for making this segment much loved and it fills my heart with joy when I know that you like my tiny hometown as well .

There were more pics of nature etc. but I thought of writing something else for a change. What do you think of the bull sculpture? Looks lively, isn’t it ? In the village(grandpa’s home),there are many small and smaller temples belonging to different deities. This sculptured bull is called ‘Nandi’ which serves as a ride for Lord Shiva and the temple is located in somewhat outskirts of village. It has few tiny temples, one main temple, a little garden and a small pond, quaint, right ?

DSCN1006

I am not sure if you know but Hindu temples require washing feet before you enter the temple but very less number of temples has natural ponds. The ponds not only serve the purpose but also add to picturesque.

Coming to the picture below,What the Old man is wearing lower half is what any age group of males used to wear till few decades back. Probably his is the last generation to dress in ‘dhoti’. It used to define an Indian till early 20th century.

DSCN1009 (2)

A brief praise about dhoti– Made of Pure extra-fine cotton, serves as an excellent natural AC in hot humid summer ;), mostly milky white color, so gives a clean formal feeling, dries up faster before you finish an episode from your daily soap opera . It is also used for wipe cloths for babies because of its superior quality and softness.

Caution for those who wear it- Look out for strong wind, tighten the knot strongly and try to not to get it caught in a nail, otherwise any of these can lead to losing your dignity 😛

DSCN1010

Ok,coming back to Nandi,these are sculptures made out of stone and are much simpler and smaller. But,they have shared a part of history of the temple for many decades and are still worshiped. It such a different feeling to see them as milestones in time 🙂

Next MFMH,I will take you back to the green fields and clear skies and some more interesting things/anecdotes. I hope you have enjoyed this segment of MFMH. If you want to know more about my rural adventures, you will find them in Memories from my Home 2 and Memories from my Home 1.

What do you think about this one ? 😀

35 Replies to “Memories From My Home 3”

  1. I loved how you captured the part I can’t see from TV. The scenery looked absolutely gorgeous and the bull sculpture is well taken care of! 🙂 I can feel how peaceful it was by just looking at your amazing photos. Please do these type of posts more as it is very fascinating to me! Good job Ady! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So beautiful! I missed one and two and had to go back and read! Thank you for sharing your hometown with us. I love learning about other places.
    The temple water and bull are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. lol !! Here I was going green over your blue feathers and moon melon 😀
        I feel the village pics close to heart,I don’t care the angle/pixel/one-third rule etc etc on them..,they just connect me to earth 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like this post 🙂 The photos are so unique to India, and I enjoy hearing about your traditions. Everything seems so colourful and decorated 🙂
    And I didn’t know the man’s clothes were called dhoti – tho I have heard the word.
    Good Post – Keep ’em coming Ady 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something :)