The Fake Astrologer

Saturday Stories

Once upon a time,there was a very famous and wise Astrologer in a kingdom. Many people believed him to be a man who directly spoke to Gods.

Even the King and his subjects respected him and consulted him. On several occasions during a case hearing in royal court,the King secretly asked the astrologer, which of the two parties were guilty. And whoever the astrologer named, the King used to punish them.

Slowly,the astrologer grew greedy and started suggesting the case in favor of those who bribed him. The King came to know this and called him one day and said,” One of our ministers is accusing an important person in court of taking bribery, can you tell me if the minister is speaking the truth ? “

The cunning astrologer replied,” Yes sir, Once I offer special prayer to the Gods, they will tell me the truth” The king said,” Alright,if the minister is lying,I will give harsh punishment”. That night the minister met the astrologer in private and begged,” Oh wise one ! If you say the king that I am lying, he will wipe me out !” And with this he gave him a bag full of gold coins.

Next morning the astrologer met and told the king, ” Dear Sire, the minister is saying the truth. “

“Arrest this man !” roared the King. The astrologer was dumbstruck but managed to mumble,”What is my crime ?” The kind retorted,” The person whom the minister was accusing of bribery is YOU !”

End Pic

Source- Chandamama

Did you like today’s story ? Watch out for more Saturdays full of fun,simple stories. 😀

Thank you and Have a great day !

38 Replies to “The Fake Astrologer”

    1. Chandamama was a children magazine of various kinds of stories which even adults loved to read 🙂 My mom loved reading them as kid and I loved them too, the stories before year 2000 were the best times,later on it started degrading in quality 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah Lovely 🙂 I didn’t know what Chandamama was in the comments! 🙂
        But yeah, I feel that most things have degraded in quality on the last decade or so. It can’t possibly be because I am getting older 😉

        Liked by 2 people

      1. Someone else was doing it few weeks back and it went on and on everywhere,so it kinda took out the charm 😦 If I do it,it would be assumed as copy !

        Liked by 1 person

      2. haha.. almost everything happening around in this world is sort of copy of a previous something 😀 Don’t worry too much about those things 😉
        Yes, the macro guess what was going around, I also saw that

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You take an idea and make it your own in your own way such that it becomes a unique in itself is what I am ok with. 🙂
        But I do miss my Picture quiz,wish I find something soon 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Say Something :)