Thursday GKs- “Sound”

I have long thought of doing something informational, a little learning with a little fun 🙂 No tough book stuff, just simple facts gathered from here and there that is General knowledge in bite size.
This week,I did some reading on Sounds and they did sound interesting 😉 Without further ado-
  • All different frequencies that the human ear can hear played at once, form the sound…. OOOMMMMMMM. This sound is referred to as the “sound of creation”. (Meditation is great !)
  • Melophobia is the fear of music !
  • If a human being yells for 8 years, 7 months and 6 days straight, he/she would produce enough sound energy to heat up one cup of coffee. ( Why do they do these experiments ? Renewable and free energy,I guess 😉 )
  • To determine how far away a thunderstorm is from you: Wait until you see lightning, then count 1-Mississippi, 2-Mississippi, etc. until you hear thunder, and divide by 5. The answer will tell you how many miles away the storm is from your location. (Did you just wish for a Thunderstorm ? 😉 )
  • The Loudest Sound till date is the Volcanic explosion in Islands of Krakatoa(near Indonesia) in 1883,creating Tsunami and massive destruction,the sound was heard in almost every part of the world !
Time for a mini Quiz,Answers in this Saturday Stories. Do join in as only you know what you guessed ! (No prior peeking/googling for answers 😛 )

Addition on later date-  Click here for Results
What do you think of this new segment,liked it, got bored ? Anything ? How often should I do it ? Once a week/2 weeks/month/none ?  I would be really glad to hear it from you 🙂

33 Replies to “Thursday GKs- “Sound””

    1. I have been wondering since, if music is considered a pattern of sounds created together,basically it would be just any kind of sounds,right ? Thank you for reading 😀

      Like

  1. I love this post 🙂 I love learning interesting facts, and it was fun and not too much at all. As they say in the comments above, maybe once a week? Or how often you feel like 🙂 And I Really like the shouting at your coffee hahaha Is this blowing off steam perhaps 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a ‘factoids’ junkie! I found this post most interesting. 😃
    Poll Daddy is mad at me and wouldn’t take my vote for A.
    I don’t know what your blogging schedule is or how much time you have.. bi-weekly would be good. Weekly is good also.
    I do love your Saturday stories much more. I love learning about other countries and the people there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading. I will check the poll problem… I am thinking of alternating them one Saturday this,another stories…lets see how things pan out 😀

      Like

      1. It’s me, not you! !
        I find I have more time to read from my phone, which means I use the WP app. It’s nice and simple. I can read everyone’s posts, however some things don’t work well, like polls. 😜
        Thank you for helping me vote!

        Liked by 1 person

Say Something :)