The Curse That Became Boon

Saturday Stories

First of all,the answer to yesterday’s quiz,” It is a Pomegranate blossom” Please notice the shiny portion behind the red petals,doesn’t it looks exactly like a pomegranate fruit’s outer skin?

And we have two winners !!!  5 star  to  Sucheta and Creekrose . Congratulations !!

Many Many thanks to All for participating ! 🙂 Here are the consolation prizes. Enjoy !

gems-chocolate-desktop

The Curse That Became Boon

Once upon a time,in a small village there was a man called Rama who sold mangoes from his orchard for a living. Everyday,he would carry a basketful of mangoes to the nearby town and sell them. To reach the town,he had to cross a jungle. It was rumored that the forest harbored wild animals,bandits and even spirits. That’s why Rama was always cautious while crossing it and made his returns before dusk.

One afternoon,Rama was returning in a happy mood having sold all his mangoes. Suddenly, while in forest he felt his basket felt heavy. He lowered the basket from his head and saw it was empty as it should be. He lifted it up again and started walking. He felt the same weight again; now he was scared. Then he heard a gentle voice,” Are you scared? Don’t be. Just put the basket down near that big tree ahead. ” Rama was a bit relieved to hear the sweet voice and did what he was told. Before his eyes, a shape of woman started forming and finally he was able to see a very beautiful deity like appearance. The woman spoke,” I am the spirit of this tree.Everyday,I take a walk around the forest. Today,I was a very tired,hence sat in the basket for sometime. Thank you for carrying me. I wish to give you something in return. Ask me anything. “

Being a simpleton, Rama said,” All the fruit vendors in market sell the same kind of mangoes like mine. Please give me some nice mangoes so that all of them will be sold tomorrow and I will return without a heavy basket.” The Goddess sighed,” Fool,you could have asked wealth …. Anyways, I am filling your basket with the juiciest and sweetest mangoes in the world” and she vanished.

When he reached his home and told everything to his wife, she was cross with him for not asking wealth. Later on, when she tasted one mango, she found them heavenly. She advised that Rama should sell each mango 10 times the usual price. Next day in market,when Rama said the price to his customers,they started mocking and went to other sellers. Later on, a rich man asked for a piece to taste and upon sampling it,immediately bought a dozen mangoes. Seeing this, other customers too tried it and with in few minutes his basket got empty. That night,the couple was very happy but the next day when he tried to sell his usual mangoes,customer said,” These mangoes are available every where. Why don’t you bring the yesterday’s variety again?” And he returned with a full basket and heavy heart to the tree where the spirit resided.

‘ O Spirit of tree, where are you ‘ he asked.

The Goddess made herself visible and inquired the reason of calling. Rama sobbed about his problem. The goddess said,” You wasted a boon on petty things. Anyways, I will grant you another boon. Choose wisely” “My wife wanted gold and jewels,please give me that” Rama answered.

“Alright, All your mangoes will turn into gold and jewels but it’s last boon so use it properly”

Rama gaily walked towards the village.After some,distance,suddenly a bandit jumped from shadows and asked,”What have you got there ? ”  Rama replied in fear,” Jewels !” “Are you joking with me! open it”. Upon finding the jewels,the bandit threatened Rama,” Leave the basket and don’t return or else you will die. Do you know who I am ? I am Veer Singh, the fiercest of all !” Rama knew the notorious name from the wanted posters and the rewards announced to catch the bandit,so he knew he was lucky to be alive till this moment.Rama bolted from there and ran back to the Goddess again and called her,” O Goddess,whatever boons you are giving me,they are useless ! If you don’t give me a good boon this time, I will tell everyone you are not a true Goddess” The Goddess became angry and said,” Imbecile! because of your stupidity you lost everything. You say my boons are worthless. Then,I am giving you a curse,whichever face you first see before sunset,will die ,now go and never come here! “

Rama started wandering in the forest so that he will reach his home after sunset or else his wife’s life would be in line. Suddenly,he heard a voice from the back,” Hey,where did you get those jewels from? Tell me or I will kill you. ” He turned and saw Veer Singh. That very moment Veer Singh gave  a sharp cry and fell down. Rama heaved a sigh of relief and carried him to King’s palace and collected the huge reward.Though,the boons didn’t help Rama much but the curse did change his life in the end.

End Pic

Source- Chandamama

Did you like today’s story ? Watch out for more Saturdays full of fun,simple stories. 😀

Thank you and Have a great day !

25 Replies to “The Curse That Became Boon”

  1. Congrats to Sucheta and Creekrose! I wouldn’t know it was Pomegranate blossom, but it looked exactly like it until you mentioned the shiny portion. It was an interesting quiz and I totally enjoyed it! 😉

    Thank you for posting an interesting story every Saturday! ❤ It reminds me of my childhood memories when my grandfather used to tell me interesting stories after school. 🙂 This story made me wanna have a big fat juicy mango right now lol 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for enjoying it Khloe ! I am very happy that you like these stories and they bring out some beautiful moments for you 🙂 I have to wait for many months till we get mangoes here 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I knew the answer, But I wasn’t interested in 5 stars 😛
    Well I am thinking about the spirit!! If she can make all wishes come true, why didn’t she do anything when she was tired of walking!! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something :)