Weddings ! Deliver me!!! – part 4

Final part.Latecomers ? No worries ! Click on part1,part2 and part3 and share a laugh with wedding Chronicles. 🙂

By now, you have attended the grand feast,guarded the bride’s treasures,break-danced with groom like imps,now its time to listen to my sob stories. Don’t worry,you get to laugh at my expense. 😀

I usually am reluctant to attend weddings because of sooo many people hustling and bustling around.So,apart from the handful of family weddings,and few more which I attended as kid(just the feast part),I can only remember 3 weddings at most where I was in active role.

stock-vector-easy-to-edit-vector-illustration-of-indian-wedding-couple-136641095Why do I hide ? Every wedding,in regular intervals,someone will get hold of me and giggle and ask,” Tell me who am I/we ? ” I have a very bad memory and it doesn’t extend beyond my immediate paternal/maternal family,so if you are the sister-in-law of my cousin whom I met last year,I can’t tell.Further,I met half of them when I was less than a year old,so no use of straining my infant brain leftovers. The questions have modified over years,now a second questions is added after ‘Who am I’ talks,’When will we get to attend your wedding !’  ………Unmarried guy/girl,you were born to fulfill the wishes of your relatives,get married so that they can have the grand feast o_O

A question,"Who preserves the wedding moments like fresh for years and years ? "

Yes,the photographer who captures each moment so that we can smile and relive them when we see them again and again.There ends the good part. 👿

All set for my mamu’s(maternal uncle) wedding. The photographer of the village was moving with an air of importance and shooting the rituals.I began to notice,he was shooting more of the known/unknown relatives and the family was nowhere to be found in the shots! He actually,lowered the camera or diverted it elsewhere where grandma or mom etc. performed some customs! I had to ask him,why are you not shooting them,he replied in a huff,”I am doing my job,do not disturb me” I began to think if he had some aversions to the family(hey, WE are paying you !) but it was not my place to give strict instructions.The elders were busy.So,I started clicking with my miserable camera phone.And that’s when  my eyes started stalking the photographer.

Oh the horrible times! Some relatives standing next to mamu(uncle/groom),click-click and grandpa posing with mamu(hey,where’s the photographer,call him to take a shot !). And when he arrives,he doesn’t wait for them to pose,’Ready .. 1….click’ and he is gone ! (after 1, a 2 does come 😮 ) A repetitive process which started irking mom and others too.

imagesDuring feast, I discovered his malicious motives. He did want to shoot us but only when we were  in weird poses,doing odd things. I was enjoying the feast with Ann and Ash(my cousins,remember ‘The man who captured happiness‘ and ‘A pop of color‘ ?) ,and suddenly I looked up and saw the photographer’s camera directly towards me ! And I was about to devour a large size fritter. My hands froze ! Out of the entire time of wedding,is this the only way I come before camera ? I immediately hid my face on the pretext of drinking water. I warned the other two that he is out to capture us in nice dress but shoving like pigs at some rare moment ! Who would listen that I don’t eat that much like it looks in video. So,with a cautious watch,we were able to finish our dinner. Happy ending ? No…. 😦

A few weeks later,the video and the photos came out. I could only find the family in only around 20 photos out of the hundreds ! And the video….. he had had the last laugh 😈 There I was trying to gobble a large piece of mutton. Even today, I feel like wringing his neck … The entire family was disappointed to see almost zero appearances of them and they had to pay for all those endless photos and video… how much ? A whopping 12000 rupees !

Weddings ARE sweet and full of emotions and more but then you know it already, this was an attempt to share some funny moments . Much more to it but for another day in future …

So,with this Wedding chronicles come to end. Give me a shout if you enjoyed them.If you have any special wish/curiosity about my country/my little town,tell me more and I will try my best to work on it 🙂

A Big Thank You and Keep smiling  🙂

32 Replies to “Weddings ! Deliver me!!! – part 4”

  1. Ady, thanKs for dropping by my blog, I REALLY enjoyed your stories about the Wedding, I would so love to go to India one day and experiance that. Adding you to my blog roll.
    Kim in Australia,

    Like

      1. We were very lucky to attend an Indian reception, the couple got married in India and then back in Australia the family held three more receptions, we were very lucky to be invited to join in. My first chance to eat REAL indian food, and experience the different cultures, I just love learning new things, I wanted to dress up in salwar kameez, but I was not sure if that was appropriate. Anyways the family (the father works with my husband) have another daughter and have promised that next wedding they will help me to find the right clothing so that I can really join in. I am really excited!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Great !! You will get to wear some colorful glittering attires which you always wanted to try on but can’t, except in weddings 😀 Salwar kameez is great for weddings unless its not a simple one which you can wear even to shopping !

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d fling the camera at him if i could 😒
    thank you for sharing your stories! It was a really fun journey! In retrospect a lot of these kind of bad experiences do end up being funny 😳
    I’m actually gonna have my first go at trying to get some photos for sisters wedding 😀 (i won’t be the only one or my sister will strangle me for my lack of competence when its over)
    maybe when i return i’ll share a bit on the experience as well. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha, ha! I remember my sister’s wedding and the photographer who made videos as well. I remember the tacky movie songs and the film starrish poses he demanded of the couple.
    For my own wedding, I refused to be photographed in weird poses, holding flowers or looking deep in the eyes of the groom. The photographer was rather displeased and threatened that the pictures would not turn out lovely or interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rofl !!! The love in those eyes which look like ocean 😛 Photographers try to put filmy romance which I detest too… Why do they have to make every couple SRK and Kajol in DDLJ ?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a great series, I learned a lot, thank you!
    I don’t think what I’m about to ask is any surprise. . Can you take some photos of some plants or flowers? It’s winter here now and I’m ‘color starved’! Nothing but bland. Yuk!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have enjoyed your wedding series very much 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂 I’d like to hear more about your childhood, and what it was like growing up wherever you were. Or any other of your Indian traditions, which always seem so colourful and lively. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Can’t believe what the photographer did to the photos! He was totally unprofessional!!! But anyway, at least you all can laugh at the photo with funny poses now lol 😀 Thank you very much for posting the entire wedding series! It was very amusing and allowed me to get to know more about your culture! Good job Ady! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Sweet Fabur 🙂 It was a pleasure of telling stories of simple Indian hearts and I am glad it amused you and now you know one can have fun just by being at an Indian wedding 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Say Something :)