The Art of Swimming

cooltext1801468861

Making friends and exchanging ideas have been a great boon for me ! Only today,a WP friend suggested me to retell some Indian stories from the old era.And I thought why not keep a day for stories,to start Saturday in a different mood than usual ! So,I have come up with the idea to try and post a short story based on different moods/themes each Saturday(I will try maintain the regularity 😉 )

Story of the Day- The Art of Swimming

Once upon a time,there was an old apothecary in a small village.He was in great demand in his own village as well as nearby villages.One stormy night,he was called upon for a very difficult case to nearby village.He tried his best but couldn’t save the patient.The furious relatives started chasing to beat him up.

The old doctor ran and ran amidst heavy rain and thunder and he reached the river separating his native village from this one.The river had already risen and flashes of lightening showed the inclement waves ready to engulf everything.The old man looked back and saw the angry mob still charging towards him.Scared,without any second thought,he jumped into the river.Having no knowledge of swimming,he almost drowned but somehow was able to reach the other bank. No one from the mob dared to jump into the flooded river,so the doctor was safe.

It was midnight when he reached his home.As he entered,he saw his son reading a book on medicine.The apothecary sighed and spoke “Son,you won’t succeed in medical profession by reading the medical books alone,the art of swimming is essential as well”

~The End(Courtesy- Chandamama magazine)

What do you think of the story ? Waiting eagerly for your comments,good,bad anything ? 😀
How would you like to join hands with me? The story can be your own or from another source but retold by you in your own words with proper credit.
Please let me know if you are interested on my email roundworldnme@gmail.com

20 Replies to “The Art of Swimming”

  1. Hahahaha what a wonderful way to say ‘not everything can be learned in a book’ & ‘there’s always more we need to learn’. I thoroughly enjoyed this ~ looking fwd to this Saturday’s offering ☺ peace, jules

    Like

  2. I thought not being able to swim or ride a bike were myths yet I met people who cant swim or float and one that was middle aged, owned a bike and couldn’t ride it.

    I LOVE STORIES TELL ME MORE!
    Its one of the only reasons I put up with strangers and conversation – to get a story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was a great story!
    I love hearing old stories from different countries. They always have a great lessons attached to them and I get to learn about other folks in far away places. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for taking my suggestion! 😉 “Son,you won’t succeed in medical profession by reading the medical books alone,the art of swimming is essential as well” made me laugh to death. Good one seriously, especially I can’t swim lol!!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Say Something :)